PDA

View Full Version : WTB: Used Vice

jcanger
03-20-2009, 11:34 PM
Hi All,

I'm just getting into tying flies and am looking for a used vice suitable for a beginner. If anyone has an old/extra rotary vice just collecting dust, please PM me with price, etc.

Thanks,

jcanger

Darrin.Deel
03-21-2009, 07:47 AM
the problem with used vices is that the jaws become weak after use. Make sure to test before you buy...

SHigSpeed
03-21-2009, 08:25 AM
I used to spin in circles while doing smack, but that was my only rotary "vice".

<LOL>

I right there with you though. I have a cheap Cabela's special vise that works fine, but isn't the best for the job.

Good luck, if anyone has one for me as well, pipe up!

_SHig

Rich Leonetti
03-21-2009, 08:46 AM
I have got a regal its barley used it has the c clamp I paid 125 for it I think ... would let it go for 75. It really is like brand new

Hairstacker
03-21-2009, 09:35 AM
the problem with used vices is that the jaws become weak after use. Make sure to test before you buy...

That may be true of some of the cheap imports from India but this will generally not hold true for the premium brand name vises like HMH, Regal, Dynaking, etc. -- their jaws are intended to support a lifetime of use.

For example, that Regal Oldtroutbelly is selling will probably outlast all of us as long as you're careful to clamp hooks in it properly.

David Lee
03-21-2009, 09:51 AM
When I started (long about '94 or thereabouts) I had a Thompson , the uber-cheap one below the A model....... I lost count of the # of flies I did on that one . Cost me $35.00 from the Bass Pond fly shop .....

It would have outlasted me had I not stupidly given it away .

The 'low end' gear from Thompson or Griffin will do ya well .

David

Hairstacker
03-21-2009, 10:00 AM
It would have outlasted me had I not stupidly given it away .