PDA

View Full Version : Looking for answers

ghw
02-15-2009, 02:42 PM
I am brand new to fly fishing, have had only one lesson. For my second lesson
my instructor wants me to get a few flies. I have to get some PMD,s and BWO
type flies. My question is, what does PMD and BWO stand for?

Ed Wahl
02-15-2009, 03:09 PM
Hi ghw. Those are abbreviations for two types of mayflies,Pale Morning Dun and Blue Winged Olive.

Check with Tony at Johnsons Bait and Tackle in Yuba City, he should be able to hook you up.

Ed

Darian
02-15-2009, 03:13 PM
The letters PMD stand for Pale Morning Dun and BWO stands for Blue Winged Olive. They're both mayfly patterns and the naturals are available on many creeks/rivers/streams throughout this area. 8)

Since you're just starting out, I'd like to recommend that you buy a book that will give you some of this type info. The book is titled, FISH FOOD, A Fly Fishers Guide to Bugs and Bait. The author is Ralph Cutter. It's a paperback and has around 200 pages in it. Not too much to begin with but contains a lot of good info that a beginner will find very useful.

Sounds like you're on the right track.... :D

ghw
02-15-2009, 03:19 PM
Hi ED;
Thank you for the info, I will talk to Tony. I don't think this will be the end of my questions.

Phil Synhorst
02-15-2009, 03:25 PM
Hi ghw....welcome to the board. If I may be so bold as to piggy back off Darian's idea, another good read for beginners is the Curtis Creek Manifesto by Sheridan Anderson. It's short, and light hearted.

ghw
02-15-2009, 03:25 PM
Darian: Thank you for answering my question so fast, I will go out and get the book. I have a feeling I will be buying lots of books in the future.

ghw
02-15-2009, 03:34 PM
Phil: Thank you for the info, it looks like I better add a bookshelf right above my fly rod rack. I am looking forward to filling it up.

huntindog
02-15-2009, 04:10 PM
Hi ED;
Thank you for the info, I will talk to Tony. I don't think this will be the end of my questions.