PDA

View Full Version : Sage Smallmouth Rod - what reel?

roosterfisher
02-11-2009, 08:17 AM
My wife bought me a Sage Smallmouth rod for our anniversary. I've never fly fished before, but I guess now is a good time to learn. However, I need to get a reel first. I'm a little confused about what size reel I need for this rod as it does not have a line weight rating. I'm new to fly gear, but I have a huge fishing gear fetish...I really like nice gear. I'm looking at maybe a Tibor Back country (7-9wt would surly work with this rod), or a Nautilus FW (not sure which size would work best). Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

David Lee
02-11-2009, 09:14 AM
Welcome to the board , Roosterfisher !

In my humble opinion ......

Both reels mentioned are overkill . They will work great , but Smallmouth don't really go anywhere . Not to say they don't fight like the devil (they DO fight like the devil , but you already know that !) , but you can use a reel that doesn't have such a high price point and blow more $$$$$ on lines/flies/etc. .

If I were you , I'd look for a reel that had a LOUD drag or clicker ..... 3 1/4-3 1/2 inches diameter . A friction drag will work fine . My short list would go something like this -

SA/Hardy #6 (sounds like a Cat in a blender when a fish runs ....)

Pflueger 1495 Medalist (the one I use - tough as a tank . Make sure to get an OLD , American-made one .)

Teton #7 LA (it'll double as a light Steelhead/BIG Trout reel)

Abel #2 Big Game (Ooops !! That one is total overkill , also ..... but it'll take down any Pike/Catfish/Musky/creature from the Black Lagoon you have the misfortune to hook . Go with the Matt Black guide finish)

Avoid the 'modern' reels that have mucho holes/porting/'chicken-wire' frames - Smallmouth reels used in creeks will get dirty and you don't want a bunch of muck inside your gear .