PDA

View Full Version : Reading recipes

neonymph
02-03-2009, 01:37 PM
I have been tying flies for a couple of years, but I have been limited to patterns which have step-by-step instructions, hopefully with illustrations. However, there are an unlimited number of patterns that are available with only the recipe. I know you follow the recipe by performing the steps in the order listed. But, I am looking for references that are specific to learning more in depth how to read and follow recipes; books, websites, etc. Any help would be helpful.

WT
02-03-2009, 01:49 PM
Most websites that I know of are either step-by-step or they just give you the recipes. And to be honest I do not know of anything that tells you how to become better at reading recipes other than through trial and error. However I might suggest you try a class. The attention you get from the instructors can be very helpful, and can open the doors for you.

Hairstacker
02-03-2009, 01:53 PM
Hi, welcome to the board!

Unfortunately, you will find that the order of the materials listed is not always consistent with respect to intent. Usually, and the generally accepted rule is, the materials are listed in the order that they are tied on to the hook; but quite often, you will also find receipes that list materials in the order that they are tied off, which is quite different than the order they are tied in.

I've never seen a book, website, etc., that gives advice on how to interpret recipes. All I can do advise you to tie many different types of flies. With experience, you will be able to glance at a picture of most fllies and make a very good, educated guess how to tie them without step-by-step instructions. Of course, with that said, you will still encounter flies that will require such instructions. I know this is probably all not what you wanted to hear but just the way it is as I see it.

jbird
02-03-2009, 02:15 PM