PDA

View Full Version : Difficulty on the Lower Stan

c_johnson
01-05-2009, 02:41 PM
I went out to the Lower Stan near the Tulloch dam this weekend (along with many others), and did not have a very productive day fishing. I managed to get one 12" rainbow on a copper johns, but pretty much missed every opportunity to take advantage of some pretty spectacular hatches.

I'm a relative newbie when it comes to fly fishing I feel that my biggest weakness is identifying hatches and mapping them to flies in my fly box. I know a lot of that just comes from experience, but do any of you have books that you recommend that teach you the basics of entomology and corresponding flies, especially for rivers in California? I have a tough time going from actual real life insects to flies that imitate them.

It was so frustrating because I was just underneath the dam on Saturday with fish feeding on the surface all around me. At times I bet 5-10 fish would be splashing around at one instant. I had these little critters covering my boots and waders and saw that the fish were nabbing each one that fell off the rocks into the water. I tried to match what I saw with so many different dry flies in my box, but not a single take. I tend to be a pretty patient guy but I left the river pretty bummed out that day.

Thanks,
Chris

Rich Leonetti
01-05-2009, 04:03 PM
Fish Food A Flyfisher's Guide to bugs and bait, by Ralph Cutter is a really easy read and is great.

Scott V
01-05-2009, 04:05 PM
Fish Food A Flyfisher's Guide to bugs and bait, by Ralph Cutter is a really easy read and is great.

I'll second that advice, I keep a copy of that book in my back seat all the time.

loganmike
01-05-2009, 05:58 PM
I agree with the book, but also keep in ind that those fish on the lower stan are pretty durn smart. I threw the correct fly and size at them in that same area for an hour once last year. It was only when I switched to 6x tippit that I hooked up.