PDA

View Full Version : Input on Used Equipment Sought

Ty@Landpark
11-14-2008, 10:21 AM
Hello--
I'd really appreciate the input from savy members on this msg board. I'm new to the sport of fly fishing and don't yet have a handle on the value of equipment...especially used equipment for sale. I've come accross an individual (original owner w/purchase receipt) who is selling a 3 wt Orvis TLS mid 7.5 8' 4" four-piece rod in primo condition and he's asking $210. Is this a quality rod and does this sound like a fair price from a potential buyer's perspective? I'm looking to aquire a 3 wt set-up for some smaller trout action.

Scott V
11-14-2008, 10:33 AM
The main problem I personally see with used gear is I believe the warranty is only valid for the original owner. So if you break the rod you are going to either pay good mony to get it fixed or you have to buy another rod. That is the main reason I buy brand new rods.

Jeff C.
11-14-2008, 10:52 AM
Hey Ty,

I bought a Redington CPS 3 wt from Bill for $199. It's a fast rod and I overlined it with a Rio Grand 4 wt. WF floating line. Go down to the shop and test cast one if you like fast rods.

Jeff

Hairstacker
11-14-2008, 11:12 AM
That's a good question and hard to answer. . . .

Scott makes a good point, although if you're near an Orvis company store and walk in with a broken rod, there's a fair chance they would replace it with no questions asked.