PDA

View Full Version : Taking a total newbie out Tues

Jay
11-01-2008, 11:21 PM
Hey guys. My best friend is wanting to get into fly fishing and is really excited about our trip on tuesday. With this storm, I dont know if I will be able to get to any of the high country water that I have become familiar/confident in. Hoping you guys had some suggestions for some moving water that is gonna be beneath the snowline, that wont be too blown out, where we stand a chance of getting him on some fish. Action will be much more important than size to him. Will be wading. Smaller, more pocketed water would be cool. brookies, rainbows, browns, doesnt matter.

Strictly catch and release. Will keep any info as quiet as you like, PM is fine.

Just really scratching my head at this point. Considering the Lower Yuba (ive only fished above the 20 bridge), and any of the forks of the american that will be accessible in this weather(never fly fished any of them, but live in between the South and middle forks). Anything in a 1.5 hr radius of auburn/placerville. Thanks soo much guys.

Jay

Since I never got around to posting it, here is my first ever Lahontan, which is my biggest yet @ 26" taken in early october on a size 14 lead eye olive bugger on a 5wt.

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h223/fourbizzle/26inchcutt.jpg

Bill Kiene semi-retired
11-01-2008, 11:24 PM
Was that at Heenan Lake?

Jay
11-01-2008, 11:26 PM
nope, got some nice brookies that day too ;)

any suggestions for tuesday?

Ed Wahl
11-02-2008, 09:21 AM
"my first ever Lahontan, which is my biggest yet" :lol:

Sent you a pm. Ed

Bill Kiene semi-retired
11-02-2008, 10:04 AM
Most trout lakes will be fishing well now.

Fuller Lake, Red Lake or Silver Lake?

Truckee River or Lower Yuba - Hwy 20?

Putah Creek?

It's Steelhead time in many rivers.

Stripers in the Delta now too.

Jay
11-02-2008, 11:15 AM
"my first ever Lahontan, which is my biggest yet" :lol:

Sent you a pm. Ed