PDA

View Full Version : need some help

garypullings
10-26-2008, 09:36 PM
Hello all,

I am looking for a new rod and reel. I am selling all my baitcasting gear and tackle to pay for a new rod. What i want is something that I can use for the following fish: striper, carp, bass, steelhead.

I currently own a sage launch 6 wt, a orvis clearwater 4wt and a pac bay 5wt. I am finding out I like my sage a little more than my orvis. It seems to me that it is a little softer action and isn't so stiff in the tip section. I casted it the other day after about 6 months not using it and was casting by the load of the rod and that worked out pretty well for me. I am not an expert here in the larger rods so i am looking for some help here. I would like to keep the price around $400.00 or below if I could.

Thanks for your help in advance.

Gary

Bill Kiene semi-retired
10-26-2008, 11:16 PM
Stripers: 9' boats and 9'6" wading? #7, 8 and 9 line rods

Steelhead: 9'-10' #7, 8 and 9 line rods

Bass: (LMB) 8'-9' #6, 7 and 8 line rods

Carp: ? 9' #7, 8 and 9 line rods?

They say you should buy what you think you would be using it for the most, just like a boat.

Sounds like you have a good 6 weight rod that would work for light steelhead and light bass situations.

I would probably get a 9' #8 line rod next.........extremely popular around here.

With a #4, 6 and 8 line rod you can pretty much do most all the fishing we have in these parts.

garypullings
10-27-2008, 08:46 PM
what type of rod is more preferred, what brand? I am thinking of building my own rod on this one. Not sure though.

Ed Wahl
10-27-2008, 09:18 PM
Gary, before you can build a rod to your own specs you're going to have to find out what those specs are. You can start with your target species.

Carp can be caught on most trout sized rods, you'll need to throw trout sized flies anyway, these fish are as picky and wary as any trout.