PDA

View Full Version : Keys in October

Skunked again
08-26-2008, 03:10 PM
Hi all!

I should preface this by saying that I have never once wetted a fly line in salt water, however, despite my screen name, I am a pretty proficient caster and fly fisherman.

I'm taking a trip to the the Florida Keys in late October and wondered what advice people could give me on the fishing, which I know can be phenomenal.

I think I am most interested in poking around the mangroves in a canoe or kayak, and maybe trying for bones. I'm not too excited about tarpon, it seems like a recipe to spend alot of money just to get skunked. Plus if I actually hooked one I think I would just throw the rod in the water out of fright :)

I'm mostly interested in DIY oppourtunities. I know hiring a guide is the best and quickest way to learn new water and techniques, but I'm a student so funds are low, so maybe I might be able to swing a half day with a guide at best. (any guide reccomendations?)

Any and all information is appreciated! I would love some reccomendations of books about fishing the keys, or flats and mangroves in general.

Also, can I get away with an 8wt? I know this is light for most saltwater but again the student thing :?

I should also admit that I'm not a purist, so I will probably be packing a spinning rod as well, so spinning/baitfishing oppourtunities could be fun too.

Thanks,
Neil

Bill Kiene semi-retired
08-26-2008, 10:02 PM
An 8 weight with a floating line is great for lots of what you are talking about including baby Tarpon.

There are some resident big Tarpon around but spring is the time for the big migration of big Tarpon.

Oct/Nov is the 'second season' in the Keys too. This is when lots of locals and guides are fishing.

http://www.floridakeysoutfitters.com/index.htm

Contact the 'Florida Keys Outfitters' in Islamorada.