PDA

View Full Version : Epoxy!

captnorm
08-16-2008, 07:46 AM
Hi everybody: I'm going to tye up some Blados Crease flies for the upcoming stripers in Discovery Bay. Yesterday I went to the hardware store to look at and buy some epoxy for the flies. There are quite a few to choose from and I went away empty-handed! I wanted to buy 5 minute for the first coat and for the finishing coat, 30 minute epoxy. After looking at labels, some turn gray, some turn yellow, etc, after drying so I didn't buy anything. I decided that you guys (& gals) on the board have favorites, so please help me in getting on the right track.

Thanks for all your help!

norm :?

Jay Murakoshi
08-16-2008, 08:57 AM
Norm,

I've been using Devcon for 20+ years. Yes it does yellow. But I have found that coating the epoxy with two coats of Loon Hard Head, the heads/bodies won't turn yellow or should I say it won't turn yellow as fast.
I coat all my sea habit heads with 3 to 4 coats of Hard Head. I"ve had a sea habit on the dashboard of my truck for over a year and it hasn't turned yellow yet.

Just one option

Jay

Darian
08-16-2008, 12:22 PM
Over the past few years, I've used two types of epoxy. The first is Devcon 5 Min. variety with a coat of Sally Hansen's "Hard as Nails". As Jay points out, it usually "yellows" over time. IMHO, faster if used in salt water.... Of course, they're usually so chewed up it doesn't really matter much. :lol: :lol:

The second is an epoxy used in rod building. Flex Coat 30 min. variety.This dries very clear and hard. I coat this with Sally Hansen's, as well. Haqven't noticed any yellowing even after being exposed to salt air/water. 8) 8) I have little patience for the latter, tho. :?

paulegan81
08-17-2008, 06:09 AM
after using two diferent brands i have switched to Devcon in the small blue and white tubes. i think the package is white and blue with black writing....