PDA

View Full Version : Oregon and Washington fly fishing in June

medfly
06-01-2008, 02:48 PM
Hey everyone, I was hoping to get some help with gathering some information. I am heading up from Sacramento on a trip through the cascades, taking me through oregon and washington and hopefully onto whistler. I have about 12 days and will be camping with my golden retiever and girlfriend. I have been flyfishing california for 15+ years but know nothing about oregon or washington fishing. any information on rivers, flies, where to go, etc. would be greatly appreciated. i am really interested in trout and steelhead, i have a 4 wt and 6 wt and no money for much else. im a medical student, and likely wont get much time other than this for fishing this year, so i really want to to this properly. thanks for all the help!!!!!!!!

bigtj
06-01-2008, 03:15 PM
Best advice I can give is pick a couple areas and focus on them and try not to cover too much territory. If you try to do it all you will spend too much time driving and not enough time fishing. June is a bit of a slim month steelhead-wise, there are a few rivers with a small number of summer runs, but overall it's a much better month for trout. As far as Oregon and Washington trout fishing goes, you will find much better fishing - but higher temperatures - in the eastern part of those states. Bend or the Klamath Falls area would be a good place to spend some time. However, right now runoff is going so might want to concentrate on tailwaters or lakes. I don't know eastern washington as well as Oregon but you could also look at the Ephrata area (rocky ford and surrounding lakes).

I was up in the Whistler area last June and I found out that it can be a slow time for river fishing, with runoff going full force. But maybe later in the month it could be OK for Dollies I don't know. There are also lots of lakes in BC and June is prime-time lake fishing so you might want to take a float tube and concentrate on the lakes.