PDA

View Full Version : New Member Announcement

Squigly Worm
03-01-2008, 09:17 PM
Good evening everyone. My name is Shawn Hiatt (Squigly Worm) currently residing in Lodi. Similar to that old great song........stuck in Lodi again......, I'm still here. I am new to the fly fishing element. I do have my first fly rod and reel which were recently outfitted with backing, line and a leader only at your local Kiene's Fly Shop. Thank you Bill and (I will call you the perfect helper because I forgot your name) the perfect helper for the fly box recommendation as well as the assortment of flies that started my collection. Since yesterday (my recent Kiene's visit), I made an attempt to fish the Mokelumne River near Lodi Lake. Although my swinging fly rod didn't resemble anything close to a fly cast, I was able to deliver my "wet" fly (great pun) a good 12' yes twelve feet across. Moments later a fish boiled to the surface. Too bad I had already brought my fly back to my side of the river.

I'll try not to babble too much longer. I am a proud father of a 3 year old boy and a 2 year old girl. No, they are not twins, and yes, they are 13 months apart. Besides being a proud father, I also enjoy being a great husband. With that preface, my fishing goals are to wet my line at least 2 weekends/month and a couple of evenings during the week. I am open to anyone’s ideas/outings/recommendations. I love the discussion board. What a great tool/avenue for the sending and receiving of messages and information.

I look forward to meeting many of you on the board at the shop or on the water.

P.S. I hate fish hooks!

Regards,
Shawn Hiatt
Squigly Worm

Mike Churchill
03-01-2008, 09:28 PM
Welcome aboard!

You didn't mention what prior fishing experience you have? Are you a:

1. total novice fisherman?

2. guy who has fished a bit with bait or gear?

3. lifelong fisherman making the transition to fly gear?

4. none of the above?