PDA

View Full Version : My hat soon to be in the ring

OregonSalmon
02-24-2008, 05:44 AM
Well boys, we all feel a need to serve our country. Some pick up gun, some join the Peace Corps, others donate blood. Since I don't know how to use a gun or take orders, won't get on a plane for any reason and am deathly afraid of needles I've decide how I can help out this great nation: I'm running for Congress in the 5'th district of Oregon. I gotta play to my strenght: an unding line of bs. Hell I grew up in Kiene's Fly Shop so I don't just have a B.S. in bs, nor a masters, I have a freakin' PHD taught to me from the king!!!

Of course I have no chance at winning but I think I'll get some laughs. This is going to be fun. I'm going to mix knowledge of the issues with lunacy. Why would I do such a silly thing you are asking. When I can drink a case of beer and still be able to point out lies off the top of my hops laden brain while watching C-Span something needs to be done. Much like Howard Beale, I'm as mad as hell and I'm not going to take it anymore!!! The other side of the aisle will find out what a strong left hook is all about.

Plus I will be seriously putting access rights on the table. Damn this issue has pissed me off since I was 16. I have to scratch that itch.

I'm thinking of campaign themes. Since it is the 5'th district and I will be running as a drunken fly tying Irishman (full disclosre....I only lie, cheat and steal from my mother) I'm thinking "I'm Galen Geller and I'm taking a shot at the fifth". "I intend to lose" did not work for me when I ran for County Commisioner. Think I'll go with the great Shirly Chisom line: "unbought and unbossed". Believe that shoe will fit.

Their are some steelhead traveling through the 5'th so I'm back to tying flies. Water is cold but they still will grab. Those critters are crazier than I.