PDA

View Full Version : Mokelumne help.

reuahcs
02-21-2008, 01:50 PM
Heya guys. How's everyone doing. First post here, thought I'd introduce myself, I'm Ben and I fish. Last few weeks I’ve been fishing the Mokelumne just below Comanche damn with little to no success… bit more towards the no success. I’m fairly new to fly fishing(just picked it up about 2-3 months ago after learning to cast some 10 plus years ago). Are there any tips anyone might be able to give me. I’ve put in 6-8 trips in last few weeks with no avail. I’m thinking I might be throwing fly’s that are just too big(14-16 pt’s, a few egg patterns then smallest dry’s I've had on me (grif gnats)). For all I know I’m just not fishing the right areas or don’t know where I should be fishing. I’ve read books watched vids. etc. but it’s kind of like those 3’d pictures where you have to cross your eyes to see the image just not seeing it yet. Anyhow, if anyone has any thoughts on what fly’s I should be trying out there or areas I might want to concentrate on feel free to let me know.
Regards,
Ben

JT
02-21-2008, 03:32 PM
I would call Bob at Sierra Anglers. The number is (209)572-2212.

Bob Laskodi
02-21-2008, 03:52 PM
The M has been very slow lately. We fished it Sunday and between four anglers (two very skilled, two first timers) only 1 steelhead and two trout were hooked. An egg pattern with a small nymph fished under an indicator is the standard rig there so you're throwing the right flies. So don't feel bad about your lack of success! :D

Matt Frey
02-21-2008, 04:08 PM
Hey,
Welcome aboard. I have never fished the M, but since you are relatively new to this sport I would concentrate on getting a dead drift. Much easier said than done. But once you are able to you will catch more fish.
Tight lines,
Matt

El Rey
02-21-2008, 06:26 PM