PDA

View Full Version : My favorite saltwater fly fishing................

Bill Kiene semi-retired
01-31-2008, 01:07 PM
I have been fishing in the tropics for over 25 years now and my favorite part of it is really good Baby Tarpon fishing in shallow clear water in the warmer months.

I have been to over 30 destinations for Tarpon but most have been fished hard for over 30 years now. If you get a few takes in a day it's considered a "good day". If you land a Tarpon during your week it's considered successful.

We have found a few new destinations that have had very little pressure and the Baby Tarpon are in large schools and not very spooky.

We use to fish Isla Holbox and Campeche which are still "good" destinations but not "Excellent" anymore The ones we are going to today, Tarpon Cay Lodge and Isla Del Sabalo are still pristine.

There was a big article in the last 'Flyfisherman' magazine on these remote new destinations.

We use 8/9 weight rods with floating lines only and the fish usually run 5 to 15 pounds in high numbers. We do find them in the 20 to 30 pound range at times too. On a really good day we have had top fly fishers boat 15 fish in one day.

Some times we find them in larger sizes like 40 to 100 pounds just out a little in deeper flats.

Here is a video clip of the owner of Yucatan Fly Fishing, Marco Ruz, who is a very good fly fisher. This will give you an idea of how many Baby Tarpon are in these new remote areas in the Mexican Yucatan west of Cancun.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zQM-3o4plY4

We have lots of Kiene's Fly Shop hosted trips to these destination this next spring, summer and fall.

For more info go to Keith Kaneko's web site, Angling On The Fly:

http://www.anglingonthefly.com/Home.html

Hairstacker
01-31-2008, 04:11 PM
Man, that is an awesome video Bill! By the way, that guy sure can cast. 8)

David Lee
01-31-2008, 06:58 PM
Those little buggers sure fall off the hook easy ..... !!!!

David :P

Tony Buzolich
01-31-2008, 07:13 PM