PDA

View Full Version : First Clouser

erhetta
11-18-2007, 04:43 PM
I would appreciate any feedback.

This is my first attempt at a clouser. I tied it on a 1/0 Eagle Claw jig hook using bucktail and Rainbow Pearl Polar Flash.

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a167/erhetta/Flys/IMG_5295.jpg

notyalc
11-19-2007, 10:50 AM
I think it looks great...If anything I might move the eyes back a little bit and make more of a "head", but that's personal preference. A tip that I would like to throw out for everyone is coating the head of clousers with either UV wader repair or UV knot sense. I started doing this to all of my striper flies and it is really making them last longer. Before I started doing this I was getting maybe 4-5 hookups on a fly, then the hair started falling out. With the UV products I have caught 12-14 stripers on the same fly and its still going strong.

Hairstacker
11-19-2007, 11:47 AM
Looks pretty good to me too. Ditto what Notyalc said about moving the eyes back a bit to provide less crowding of the eye. I like to use less chartreuse hair and I like to sandwich some Flashabou and Krystal Flash between the two colors of hair but these are just personal preferences that you can take or leave. No doubt it will catch fish as it is. Good job!

Adam Grace
11-19-2007, 02:05 PM
That is a good first clouser, have fun tying more!

SteelieD
11-19-2007, 03:04 PM
Looks way better than the first one I tied! Nice job.

Do move those eyes back a bit. It makes it much easier to get those bucktail ends ties in and create a real smooth tapered head.

koffler
11-19-2007, 10:41 PM