PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed for camping on the lower Klamath

Anne Vitale
10-21-2007, 11:34 AM
Hi Folks.... I have decided to head up to the lower Klamath for a long weekend Oct 25-28 for a solo steelhead trip. My preliminary plans are to set up camp (I have a completely self contained, VW Westfallia) at the Aikens Creek campground and using my "Streamtime" map make day trips up and down the river to hit the riffles the map suggest are good for wade fishing. I fish exclusively with my spey rod and on the swing.

Soooo...my questions: Can anyone tell me if Aikens is a good place to camp? If not, is there an alternative? Are there any special safety concerns I should have? I have extensive experience camping out on my own and have never had any trouble but I think that is due to doing my homework first. Also if anyone else plans to be up there next weekend, let me know and I'll try to stop by and say hello.

Anne

Bill Kiene semi-retired
10-21-2007, 11:48 AM
Hi Anne

Not up to date on the best camping places now but I know that I would fish from Orleans upstream to Happy Camp during that time of year.

Rick J
10-21-2007, 12:00 PM
Ann,
The river blew out last week big time so check flows before you go. Bruce almost lost his boat trailer at Buzzards Roost

http://cdec.water.ca.gov/river/rivcond.html

nrthcsteel
10-21-2007, 01:48 PM