PDA

View Full Version : New Spey rods from Sage for 2008

Bill Kiene semi-retired
09-23-2007, 09:22 PM
They have two new Spey rods:

12'6" # 5 line in 4 piece which we cast with a new Rio 'AFS' floating head. Really great casting rod especially nice for Halfpounders.

12'9" # 8 line in 4 piece that is a killer rod for winter fishing with heavy fast sinking tips and big flies. We got one of these in late Friday and we sold it in about 5 minutes from the time Aaron put it out on the rod rack.

Pfloyyd
10-09-2007, 04:51 PM
Thanks for the update on new Sage rods Bill-
Anyone care to elaborate on advantages of 'shorter' 8 & 9 wt. spey rods for winter/heavy work? I'm relatively new to two-handers, and currently fish with Gary Anderson's 13'9 7wt., and 15'1 8 wt. 5pc. I'm fishing comfortably with both, but am considering adding one more (of course) to the collection for large Intruder-type flies & winter fish.

nrthcsteel
10-10-2007, 07:37 PM