PDA

View Full Version : Brand Spankin New to fly fishing with a few questions(please

Digger0038
09-20-2007, 07:24 PM
Hello everyone,
I'm new to fly fishing and if you dont mind I have a few questions. I started about a month ago and I practice casting at least a few times a week and I caught my first trout in the Mokelumne a few weeks ago on a nymph. (not important but I get excited just talking about how much fun it was :D ). Anyway I already have 3 fly rods and about 50 different types of flys. One of my rods is a 5 weight I also have a 6 weight and I picked up an 8 weight lamiglas with Okuma integrity reel for a really really good price ....All 9ft rods. Anyway back to the question. I really would love to catch some steelhead on the American river. I have waders but I have no clue where to go or what to use. I know a few spots where people fish but one of them bieng at the Nimbus Dam (too crowded for me to fly fish there) and the other spot that looks good is at the watt avenue river access. Is that an ok spot to try and do I need barbless hooks there? All of my flys have barbs on them where can I get barbless flys or do you grind the barbs off? I am thinking of heading out to give it a try at the first break of light on Saturday morning.
Thank you for and advice you can give.
Dave

Matt Frey
09-20-2007, 07:40 PM
Welcome
I don't know about access for you. You should go into the shop and talk to the guys. About the barbs on your hooks, you can easily use a pair of forceps or needle nose pilers to smash down the barbs. Here is a copy of the regulations. In my opinion it's always good to fish barbless even if it's not required. It's a easier on the fish.

Good Luck,
Matt

http://www.dfg.ca.gov/regulations/07-08-inland-fish-regs.pdf

Bill Kiene semi-retired
09-20-2007, 09:28 PM
The fish are scattered throughout the river now.