PDA

View Full Version : American River Help!!

davkrat
08-07-2007, 09:09 PM
I've been skunked on the American 4 times now. Twice in the last week!!! My brother and I have seen lots of Caddis comming off. Each time we have seen a few fish make splashy porpoising rises which made me assume they're after emerging pupas. My brother had about an 18" fish hit his yarn indicator while drifting a caddis larva. I tried a large hopper pattern to see if I could make him try again, no luck. I tried caddis dries, dead drift no luck, skated no luck. I swung an olive bodied wet fly, no luck. Nymphs with split shot, no luck, without shot, no luck! The caddis seemed very light colored almost white. There were tons of Hydropsyche (green rock worm?) larva in the water. We tried a Czech style nymph very similar to these with... no luck!

Any tips would be greatly appreciated. I'm assuming the half pounders haven't really started yet but I have very little experience with this river and steelhead in general. Thanks

slage
08-07-2007, 09:26 PM
Welcome to the A....
Keep on keeping on

Bill Kiene semi-retired
08-07-2007, 10:09 PM
I have fished those Halfpounders for over 40 years with a fly and before that with night crawlers and such.

Hit them hard in September. That my favorite month. They are fresher then and in schools too. Plus they are a little dumber too.

Last Fall Halfpounder run was terrible. Some years it's good, some it's bad and some it's unreal.

__________________________________________________ ________

One of the best mornings I have ever seen was about 10-15 years ago.

It had been good and was in early September.

We were at Watt Avenue (my secret place) above the bridge which is one of the 6 or so best places for Halfpounders on the river.