PDA

View Full Version : Best Sink Tip Line

jhaquett
07-30-2007, 10:00 PM
Hey,

I was hoping to get some opinions on the best sink tip line or best sink tip setup for steelhead. It will be used mainly for steelhead but this line will be my general sink tip line as well. I am going to get a line for a 7 weight rod with moderate action. As far as steelheading goes I am a total beginner :oops: , I've only tried it twice and it was with a floating line, but I always hear about everyone "tearin em up" on sink tip lines. :idea: So, like I said, some help on the entire subject and some suggested lines would be great. :D . Thanks guys. 8)

Adam Grace
07-30-2007, 10:08 PM
I think the best line setup is the Anadromous Advantage multi-sinking head line from Rio. This line kit come with different sinking rate heads to allow you to control how deep you fish. I have hoped for a line like this for a while.

Has anyone out there used this line? if so how do you like it?

Bill Kiene semi-retired
07-31-2007, 07:34 AM
Adam,

I got a good one for you.

Rio is discontinuing that line?????????????????????????????????????????

Adam Grace
07-31-2007, 07:39 AM
That sucks, those lines were a great idea, what a complete kit. Maybe they were too expensive for most guys, but well worth the money IMO!

dtp916
07-31-2007, 08:32 AM
Teeny lines are a favorite for sink tips. Depending on depth and current speed, I'd use a T-200, T-400, or a Mini Tip.

That Versitip line by Rio is OK, but the loop connectinos are pretty big...

Jim Teeny's Steelhead video is pretty interesting and it shows his rigs and how he catches them on heavily pressured waters using sinking and floating lines - without indicators 8)

bigtj
07-31-2007, 08:40 AM
I think the best sink-tip setup is to use a 2-hander and a skagit line or windcutter. Some situations in the summer are OK with a single-hander and a sink tip, but for all-around steelhead fishing, nothing beats the drift you can get with a 2-hander.