PDA

View Full Version : Surfin' Merkin

PaulC
07-18-2007, 06:11 PM
Hey Guys,
Been a while since I contributed something, so here's a corbina pattern I've been fishing for a couple years with.
Alot of guys are doing well with it this year.
Have caught halibut, croaker and perch on it as well.

Hook: #6-#8 Gami SL11
Thread: UTC fire orange 140
Eyes: Black Dazl Eyes (size to fit the hook)
Flippers in the tail: Grey Sili Legs
Flash in the tail: UV Krystal flash
Body: Grey or Silver EP fiber tied on the bottom of the hook shank with figure 8 wraps. Build the body from the back towards the eyes.
Head flash: Orange electra flash or somethin orange for the egg sack attractor.
Coat the thread wraps on the top of the hook with UV knotsense or some form of epoxy for durability being dragged through the sand.

Meant to imitate a diving mole crab.
Paul

Bottom View
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v715/Cronin/merkin_bottom.jpg

Top View
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v715/Cronin/merkin_top.jpg

A toad on this bug
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v715/Cronin/bean2_paul_062807_2.jpg

David Lee
07-18-2007, 06:41 PM
:D :D :D

I've been waiting for a pattern sheet for this fly ........

Thanks Paul !!

David

Darian
07-18-2007, 08:38 PM
Paul,.... That's one nice Corbina.... Wish I'd have had that pattern In Baja, recently.... I've noticed several large fish (Jacks or Roosters rootin' around in the sand right in the water line.... Maybe they were after small crabs.

Adam Grace
07-18-2007, 09:13 PM
Nice fly, and nice Corbina!

jbird
07-18-2007, 09:34 PM
Paul

Awesome fish and nice fly. What line do you like for that fly and what retrieve do you use?

Thanks
jay

Adam Grace
07-19-2007, 12:24 AM
BTW, nice hat!

PaulC
07-19-2007, 07:05 AM
Hey Jay,
I am typically using 250 grain streamer express on my 6wt xi2. Loads the rod well and anchors the fly in current.
Only downfall to this setup is you have to lead the fish a bit to avoid crashing the line on them and spooking them.