PDA

View Full Version : Upper McCloud Redband?Opening Day Weekend-Heritage Challenge

Ueyama
05-08-2007, 10:11 PM
I am attempting the California Heritage Trout Challenge with my buddy, but am in need of some help. Can you let me know if the following fish are redbands? Any words of advice for the challenge with locations on the specific rivers and/or flies would be helpful. I appreciate everyone's time to reply. Thanks a million.
PS. I am not good with cameras. I know how to turn one on and press the button. My pictures are pretty bad in comparison others that are posting.
Mike

PICTURE 1 - Upper McCloud - My buddy's fish
http://i194.photobucket.com/albums/z285/ueyama/UpperMcCloudRedbandMichael.jpg

PICTURE 2 - Upper McCloud - My fish
http://i194.photobucket.com/albums/z285/ueyama/UpperMcCloudRedbandMike.jpg

PICTURE 3 - Lower McCloud - Is it possible that this is a redband or hybrid?
http://i194.photobucket.com/albums/z285/ueyama/McCloud.jpg

Thanks again to everyone.

windknot
05-09-2007, 06:57 PM
Not sure what the stocking practices on the McCloud are but I think that rainbows in the Upper are considered McCloud redbands.

Lahontan cutthroats have been reintroduced into part of their native drainage in the headwaters of the Truckee, which is accessible by a short hike from either hwy 88 or hwy 89. Kern rainbows, Little Kern goldens, and Volcano Creek goldens are all native to streams of the Kern drainage east of Bakersfield. Warner and Goose Lake redbands are native to those drainages in the northeastern corner of California. Coastal cutts can be found in a few northern coastal river drainages, and coastal rainbows are native to the entire Sacramento and San Joaquin drainages, as well as every coastal Californian stream.

If you go to the DFG site they have some background info on the different strains of trout native to California and a comprehensive outline of which drainages count for the heritage trout challenge. Hope this helps and good luck!

Ueyama