PDA

View Full Version : Best Cheap Fly Reel

jhaquett
03-26-2007, 06:30 PM
Just wondering if you guys had an opinion on the best fly reel under $50. I am looking for a 7-9 wt reel strictly for the use of pond fishing for big bass. My favorites are the Okuma Integrity and Sierra, both of which (especially the Integrity) you can get very cheap on ebay. I also like the Ross Flycast and was thinking that the Flystart would be good. Any suggestions would be great. Thanks.

flygolf
03-26-2007, 06:46 PM
try the new Ross flystart. I personally think that the drag is better than the drag on the more expensive flycast.

Darian
03-26-2007, 09:12 PM
I'm a little prejudiced here but, IMHO, the Pfueger series of reels are cheap and very good for pond fishing. They come in a wide variety of sizes and you can get one with an adjustable drag (if that's what you'd like). I've been using a pfleuger, model 1495 1/2, since around 1968 for Salmon/Steelhead and all of the warmwater species. Aside from some signs of wear, the reel still peforms. 8) 8) 8)

On the other hand, there's you a reel to fit anyones pocket book or imagined need. Go to it.... 8) 8) 8) 8)

Bill Kiene semi-retired
03-26-2007, 10:26 PM
The new Ross "Flystart" is only $45.00 and is now our top selling low end fly reel.

The last few years we sold tons of Orvis "Clearwater" reels for $39 but the Flystart just smoked it for 2007.

Come in a take a look at them in 4 sizes.

David Lee
03-27-2007, 06:12 AM
I'm a little prejudiced here but, IMHO, the Pfueger series of reels are cheap and very good for pond fishing. They come in a wide variety of sizes and you can get one with an adjustable drag (if that's what you'd like). I've been using a pfleuger, model 1495 1/2, since around 1968 for Salmon/Steelhead and all of the warmwater species. Aside from some signs of wear, the reel still peforms. 8) 8) 8)

On the other hand, there's you a reel to fit anyones pocket book or imagined need. Go to it.... 8) 8) 8) 8)