PDA

View Full Version : dunked digital camera

jbird
03-20-2007, 08:07 PM
For those who read my "totally awesome adventure" story about klammath lake, I have an update on the dunked camera.

The camera seems to be fine...with one exception. The flash doesnt work. It is a sony cybershot, point and shoot type deal so the flash is totally enveloped in the camera housing.

I tried taking the camera apart. I removed the 8 microscopic screws and had the camera pretty well apart. But I was going to have to dig too deep to access any flash mechanism or bulb, so I put it back together.

Anyone with any thoughts on this ?

jay

Darian
03-20-2007, 10:09 PM
Hi Jay,.... I'm no expert on this but maybe use a hair (blow) dryer after dissasembling the camera again :? :? :?: :?:

WinterrunRon
03-20-2007, 10:15 PM
You mean other than suggesting all future pictures be taken in bright sunlight?

All kidding aside, Jay, I've dunked a few, dried them out really good with the defroster, and ended up having a few features just not come back.

I think your best option is to send it in to have it repaired by Sony. I send my Canon back to their repair facility and it's Fed Ex'ed back to me as new at minimal cost.

Good luck with it.

Ron

jbird
03-21-2007, 08:06 AM
Ron

I wish Sony was that simple to deal with.

I just got off the phone with them and it will cost me $181 minimum charge!:shock: and a 90 day turnaround. I have been through this with sony before. I remember the fee being outragious, thus my reluctance to call them.
It looks like bright daylight photography is the verdict for this camera :roll: :(

Anyone in the market to sell a Optio WP?

Jay

WinterrunRon
03-21-2007, 09:17 AM
Wow, Jay, that's ridiculous.

I don't, and wouldn't, own any other manufacture's photographic product other than Canon.